Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass

Amazon | Goodreads

5/5 Throwing Knives (Kindle Version)

What is it about?

Celaena Sardothien (I pronounce it “Selena”)* has earned her place in the prison camp Endovier, but she’s not quite sure who betrayed her to make her end up there. Celaena was a notorious assassin, and has somehow managed to survive a whole year when others last less than a few months.

One day she is dragged before the Crown Prince of Adarlan and receives an offer. She could rot in prison, or participate in a competition to serve as the King’s Champion (Assassin). Die or serve the man you hate most in the world. She chooses to participate, but no one knew that someone or something would be hunting the champions and murdering them in a most gruesome way. Not only does she need to win the tournament, but she needs to survive!

* I have a tendency to mispronounce things, so don’t take my word for it. I pronounced Hermione as “Her Me On” until the Harry Potter movies came out, and just last night my husband told me Charisma is not “Cha risma” but “Ka risma”. 

Was it good?

Absolutely. I loved this book. It was super entertaining! Celaena’s sarcastic and confident attitude made the book really fun. There are reminders that she is a somewhat immature girl of 17 but for the most part she is really strong and smart.

Also, the sprinkled in hints of magic made my heart flutter.

I am only disappointed that my library has only 17 copies of Book 2, Crown of Midnight, and I am number 57 in line. That means it could take up to 10 weeks before I can read the next book! (57/17 x 3 week check out period). Christmas is in 9 weeks, so I think I know what I want for Christmas. Are you reading this, husband of mine? 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

    1. I feel guilty buying myself books because I’m always buying the kids books and I feel like I can only justify so much spending to my hard working husband! Probably he would just tell me to go ahead but thats a dangerous slope… I think there’s 6 more books in the series!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment