Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard and Florence Atwater

Good afternoon, Happy Valentine’s Day, and Happy Friday Day!

Here’s a little crochet Penguin I made for our Antarctica study.

Last week our focus was on Antarctica and all the beautiful books really captured everyone’s imagination. My kids have spent the last two weeks pretending to be penguins, or captains of their own icebreaker ships.

We read so many beautiful picture books about this magical place, and our favorite was probably Sophie Scott Goes South by Alison Lester. I HAD to buy it. ❤️

A poster that says “Read Sophie Scott goes South”

Our read aloud chapter book was Mr. Popper’s Penguins. There is a movie as well, but we have not watched it yet.

Mr. Popper wrote a very lovely letter to Admiral Drake who is a famous arctic and Antarctic explorer. As thanks, Drake sent Mr. Popper a special surprise… a penguin.

Coloring in a picture of “Captain Cook”

This was a really well written, cute story. I enjoyed it very much as an adult and my 5 year old was entranced. My 3 year old wandered off to go play trains a few nights but would run back when I said there was a picture to look at.

I am really glad that we read this, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a light hearted read aloud, or anyone who likes penguins.

Leave a comment