Gravemaidens by Kelly Coon 4/5

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I received this book from NetGalley waaaaaaaay back in May 2019. That is how far behind I am reviewing ARCs and author copies. I feel a little guilty, I do, but I also can’t stop myself from reading other things.

This one is about a healer in a city in which the ruler is dying. It is tradition that 3 beautiful maidens are chosen to accompany the healer to his grave in order to take care of him in the after life. Everyone thinks this is a great honor, except for the healer who knows it is just dying. When her sister gets chosen to be a maiden, she does everything she can to prevent the ceremony from taking place.

Here are my thoughts: While the main character seemed a little naive and didn’t always recognize the things that were right in front of her. She’s also so concerned with helping others that she will not accept help from anyone else which is a bit annoying.

However, the story was enchanting. I stayed up late more than one to finish out the chase scene, and then the next part.. and then I absolutely had to find out what happened to the mother. The story has a great pace that pulls you along.

I give this book 4/5, and I had to think about it carefully because the ending just felt so flat or “blah” to me that I almost wanted to give the whole book a 3. Then I remembered how much I liked all the good bits and I tried to forget the ending. It’s not that it is a bad ending, and I cannot articulate what it was that I didn’t like, but it just left me feeling uninterested in what could happen next.

Leave a comment