Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

HPCC

Amazon | Goodreads

5/5

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, and J.K. Rowling.

What is it about?

Come on. You know Harry Potter. It’s about Harry Potter and his battle against evil. Only, this time, he’s older and his family gets caught in the middle of it all. One thing you should know is that this is a script for the play. It is written like a regular book. I haven’t read a script since my failed acting career in junior high school, but it was very easy to read and understand.

Was it good?

If you feel any affection for HP, you MUST read this book. If you are not familiar with Harry Potter (who ARE you?!), this can be read as a stand alone story. It takes place 19 years after Harry Potter and the Half-Blood PrinceΒ Deathly Hallows, and doesn’t really require any knowledge of preceding events to make sense. I think the bonds between the characters benefit from knowing their history, but the story itself is still interesting even without prior affection for the characters. (EDIT: I was confused about the order of the HP books because it’s been years since I read them. Deathly Hallow was book 7, and Half Blood Prince was book 6.)

I enjoyed this book immensely, partly because it reminded me of my happy childhood, but also because I NEEDED to know how they would get out of the trouble they were in. My thoughts were tangled up in this story and I felt the need to share/rant about it with my husband several times.

Side note: My husband was a Harry Potter virgin when he met me. He had not seen the movies or read the books. When we were pregnant with our first-born he started reading out loud to us. We are nearly 4 years later and still only in book 5 because reading to small children is very difficult when they feel the need to control the pages and there is a distinct lack of pictures.

The Play:

According to Wikipedia, The Cursed Child is coming to Broadway in New York in September 2017. I told my husband we should go, but he didn’t seem very enthusiastic. I’ll keep asking him, although it will take some creative planning to make it work.

Are you going to go see it?

 

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. I loved this book!!!!☺
    Although if it wouldn’t have been represented as a play, it would be so much better……….but I loved it even after that.πŸ˜€πŸ˜€
    P.S. I’ve nominated you for the Leibster Award!!!!!!😊😊
    Congratulations!!πŸ’
    Keep GoingπŸ‘πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to hear about your JH failed acting career, HAHA!! And I can’t believe your husband was a Harry Potter virgin!! Glad to know you opened his eyes to the wonder that is HP πŸ˜€

    Also, great review! I haven’t read this one yet, and I’ve heard mixed reviews on it, but I’d like to pick it up one day all the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

