Red Rising by Pierce Brown (Red Rising #1)

Red Rising

Amazon | Goodreads

4/5

What is it about?

Darrow is a Helldiver of clan Lykos in a mining colony deep within Mars. When he and his wife, Eo, get caught in an off-limits area Darrow gets noticed by a group called the Sons of Ares. It is their mission to destroy the caste system. Darrow’s people are not the pioneers of Mars like all the propaganda tells them, they are slaves to a society that has little value for its citizens.

Was it good?

I admit that I am easily swayed by other people’s words, which is one reason I don’t read a lot of reviews before posting my own. I was super-duper excited about this book, because Sarah at Critiquing Chemist had such a glowing review for it. And yet, when I told my husband about the premise he said “That’s not original.” and “It sounds like Elysium”. My glow was dampened and I started noticing that it did have rather a Hunger Games feel to it.

And yet, around the time that Darrow gets stabbed in the belly, I could NOT stop thinking about this book. I didn’t want to play with my kids. I didn’t want to cook dinner. I didn’t want to walk the dog. I wanted to read the book! Although at times the book was predictable, there were a few surprises. Although Darrow wasn’t lovable for me, he was interesting. Although the book started slow, it ended with me staying up past my bedtime and having crazy book themed dreams last night.

I am really eager to read the next part in the series. There are only 3 books in this series, but there are two other related series, Iron Golds, and Sons of Ares. I have not read any of these, have you?

 

One thought on “Red Rising by Pierce Brown (Red Rising #1)

Leave a Reply

