Book Review: Cooking For Two by American Test Kitchen

I know I say I’m going to review recipes somewhere on this website, but that is hard to do when I can’t share them with you. Most of the new recipes I try come from one amazing source, The Complete Cooking For Two Cookbook by American Test Kitchen.

CF2

Amazon | Goodreads

This cookbook is very easy to follow and understand. Even my older brother who “can burn water” tried a recipe the other day. He texted me a few times freaking out about this and that but he had a beautiful and “pretty good” meal afterwards.

I keep a list of things I can cook on the refrigerator so that we don’t forget all the delicious possibilities when we plan for the upcoming week. A good portion of the things I cook are from this book, adapted for my picky husband or children.

Some of my favorite recipes include:

  • Beef and Barley Soup
  • Lamb Gyro
  • Lentil Soup
  • Potato, Leek, & Kielbasa Soup (I like soup, okay?!)
  • Meaty Skillet Lasagna
  • It has a fancier name but it’s basically Chicken and Spaghetti with mushrooms. Soooo good.
  • Fajita’s
  • Steak and Red Potatoes (again has a fancier name but I’m drooling just thinking about it)
  • Roasted Chicken with Brussel Sprouts
  • Crispy Chicken Breasts
  • Bacon Wrapped Pork Chop – This is my husbands all time favorite and he asks for it all the time.

There are lots of side recipes and 3 dessert chapters if you count quick breads (like banana bread). Speaking of dessert, their banana bread is pretty good but their Brownies…. I don’t have the eloquence to describe something so beautiful. And their chocolate chip cookies are delicious and only make 12 so my husband and I don’t eat too many.

Ah this book… I recommend it to everyone that talks to me about cooking.

Time for breakfast now!

 

Leave a Reply

