Book Review – The Watsons by Jane Austen

watsons

Amazon | Goodreads

What is it about?

Emma Watson is a young lady who is returned to her poor family after spending the last 14 years living luxuriously with her Aunt who remarried and squandered her fortune. She is then introduced to society and draws the eyes of a few gentlemen, but she only has eyes for one.

Is it good?

It was really good… until it ended abruptly. Apparently Jane Austen died before finishing this story. I didn’t realize what I was getting into because I’ve just been working my way through the complete Jane Austen collection.

I really liked Emma Watson and her sister Elizabeth and I really wanted to know what was happening.

I have heard tell of a novel that completes the story on Jane Austen’s behalf, but I feel like that might be cheating on dear Jane.

Jane Austen

Amazon | Goodreads

I have thoroughly enjoyed each and every book from Jane Austen. They always feel like my best friend sharing the juiciest gossip with me, and I always feel very attached to the characters. [The whole collection is only $0.99 for Kindle!)

Jane Austen died 200 years ago this July, but I think she is still as popular as ever. Maybe I’m feeling overly emotional because I’ve been working through the compilation for a whole year, but I love her stories.

Up Next: The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachelle Joyce. I am loving this book so far! It is the second book in the Harold Fry story, but it occurs at the same time as Harold Fry and seems like a stand alone book. I don’t often buy books because the library is always free, but this one is only $2.99 on Amazon right now and I couldn’t resist.   

Leave a Reply

