Book Review: The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Secret Garden

Amazon | Goodreads

What is it about?

The Secret Garden is a story about the magic of fresh air and friendship. Mary is a cranky little girl in India orphaned when her parents get sick. She is sent to Yorkshire to live with her uncle but he is not interested and leaves her to herself. She discovers a secret garden, and a secret boy, and their lives change in positive ways.

Was it good?

It is a heartwarming story, and a classic. I listened to this on Audible (free through Echo for the month of April) and although I was distracted every now and then, the story had a nice flow to it. The characters were believable and I feel that they grew and learned as the story went on. The descriptions were not overly long but made it easy to picture the scenes as they were unfolding. Had I read this as a book, I believe I would have enjoyed it. 

4/5 Stars – I liked it

Up Next: I know I said it would be Tom Holt – Doughnut. I am still working on that one, but I also started reading Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and I really like it so far.

Leave a Reply

