2 Book Reviews: Ann Pratchett and Paul Levine + Post-A-Quote Challenge

This is 3 posts in one, so as to not bombard my dedicated readers with notifications.

We had a lot of down time on our magical cruise to Alaska while Little Man took his naps throughout the day. We finished Orphan Black Season 1 (WOW!), took several naps, and I managed to finish two books. He’s a good sleeper, what can I say? (He’s sleeping right now!)


This is the Story of a Happy Marriage – Ann Pratchett

3 /5 stars

This is a collection of articles on a variety of topics from writing, to marriage, and including dogs, friends, bookstores, and more.

However, do not let the title fool you! This is not a story about a happy marriage. In fact, in this collection of articles written by Ann, she mentions her happy marriage only a few times.

I am not certain if there was a theme to the stories, most of them seem very different from each other. My favorite articles were the first two, in which she provided the reader with some practical advise about writing. Ann Pratchett began her career as a freelance writer for magazines and has since written several well received novels. I was inclined to listen to her advice, especially since it made so much sense.

To paraphrase: Only you can push yourself to be a better writer, and you need to  devote time daily to writing. Also, it is VERY important that you don not allow distractions during this time. Your writing time is important and needs to be treated as work.

Or in other words, if you want to write, you are actually going to have to sit down and write.

It was after these first two articles that I started this blog. I had told my husband on several occasions before that I wanted to write a book one day…when the kids were independent and we had retired. It has come to my attention this mysterious book is not going to appear out of thin air. At least, according to Ann, I’m going to have to work for it. Maybe if I start now, I will have a solid foundation for making that dream come true.

Overall, while I found the beginning of the book very inspiring, most of the rest of the stories didn’t incite any such fire in my veins.

Next book: Bum Rap by Paul Levine


Bum Rap by Paul Levine

 4/5 stars

This is a highly entertaining book about a lawyer that goes to great lengths to prevent his client from going to prison for a murder he may or may not have committed. Little did I know this book brings together a few characters from Paul Levine’s other popular series. I have never read any of his other books and understood the characters just fine, therefore this is a good stand alone book.

The plot unfolds quickly and contains entertaining items such as gangsters, pretty women, smart-assery and more.

The part I found most interesting, though, was the authors note in which he explains where he drew his inspiration for the story. He saw a headline in his newspaper and read the court transcript and drew direct inspiration from an actual case.

This reminds me of some advice I received from my accounting professors: read the newspaper! They said it’s important to be aware of what’s going on around you, and it helps make small talk at networking events. I’ve never taken up the habit, but maybe I should?

Next book: (R)evolution – by PJ Manning


Thanks to God, Guts and Glory for nominating me for the Quote Challenge.

The Post a Quote Rules:

•Post 1 quote a day for 3 days (can be your own or from other sources).
•Nominate 3 bloggers to participate per post. (This is going to be hard for me… I don’t know that many blogs. Guess I better start looking!)
•Thank the person who nominated you. (can do, buckaroo)

My Quote for the Day:

“Hakuna Matata, it means ‘no worries’, for the rest of your dayyyyys, it’s a problem freeeee…philosophyyyyy, hakuna matata” (Timon & Pumba – Disney’s The Lion King)

People I Nominate for the Post A Day Challenge:

1. PShoffman

2. ~*LunaSea*~

And that’s it, without renaming bloggers that already participated. Perhaps tomorrow I will do three quotes and one recommendation. Life is more fun when you bend the rules anyway.

Here’s a wordpress recommendation:

3. iamthemilk

Leave a Reply

